Greater Portland Babe Ruth set to begin!

Updated Monday May 27, 2019 by Michael Rutherford.

The 2019 Greater Portland Babe Ruth season opened up yesterday at Haverty Field in Portland.  Defending City Champs, Gribbs, defeated Miss Portland Diner 8-3.  The rest of the league opens up their season on June 9th.  There are 13 teams in this years league.  Five Portalnd teasm, Gribbs, Miss Portland Diner, Scales, Salvage BBQ, and Yankee Ford.  Two South Portland teams, defending league Champs, Ri Ra's, and Easy Day.  Scarborough has two teams, Bangor Savings and the Benchwarmers.  Desmond and Rand and Phoenix Welding make up the two Westbrook teams.  Cape Elizabeth and Falmouth both put in one team. Each team will play a 15 game regular season schedule.  There will be a single elimantion playoff at the end of July.  Pre season favorites are Gribbs, Ri Ra's and the Benchwarmers from Scarborough.